Wandering

I’ve always been a wanderer. Just when I think I have things figured out, something stirs inside me, and I’m on my way again. It’s happened with jobs, friends, haircuts, clothing styles…all my life. I didn’t figure out my major in college until I was classified a senior, and even now, my profession is not what I majored in. I’ve always taken Tolkien’s words to heart, in that, “not all those who wander are lost.” I’m not lost, not at all. It just takes me a little longer than some to find my way. The adventures I have had in finding my way, are what I treasure most. Except for the past few years, I’ve struggled with who I am, and what I wanted to do with my life. I’ve finally figured it out. You have to wander, to figure out who you really are, and where you fit in the world. I don’t have to be rich, drive a fancy car, or be a CEO. I just have to enjoy the world around me, and be comfortable in my skin. It’s taken me a lot of years to figure that out, but it feels good to finally be there. I will always have a wanderlust to see the world, but I know where I fit, now.

Leave a Reply

